Making Peace

 

Today, during my morning rush of insanity, ( otherwise known as my daily routine) I reached in my bag for my phone, and with my phone, up came this button. Buried in my purse, a message! I quick snapped this photo, and attached the pin to my scarf. While eating breakfast I thought about making peace. Who, or what did I need to make peace with? For me it was myself. I was feeling a bit anxious last night and this morning, trying to figure out a work dilemna. I put tons of pressure on myself to learn things quickly, which of course at times leads to major frustration. And here I was , very frustrated.

I can tell my kids to be patient, tell my kids to take their time. Why is it so hard to listen to my own advice?

I love this quote about peace:

“You get peace of mind not by thinking about it or imagining it, but by quietening and relaxing the restless mind.” -Remez Sasson

Once I relaxed a bit, let myself think for second, I felt better. I still have to figure some things out, but now instead of feeling stressed out, I’m more focused on getting it done.

 

So what or whom are you making peace with today?

A friend, A family member, or yourself?

Practicing peace is a daily exercise. There are so many moments that I lose my cool, and then think, “Why wasn’t I more peaceful”?

Here are some of my favorite quotes about peace: I write them down in my Journal as little reminders.

 

“Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between two deep breaths.” -Etty Hillesum

“When you live on a round planet, there’s no choosing sides.” -Wayne Dyer

“Don’t let your mind bully your body into believing it must carry the burden of its worries.” ~Astrid Alauda

“Don’t seek, don’t search, don’t ask, don’t knock, don’t demand – relax. If you relax, it comes. If you relax, it is there. If you relax, you start vibrating with it.” ~Osho

 

Do you like my little Make Peace button? I have some extras!  Leave a comment, and I’ll send you one!

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise Yocco says:

    I like making peace too…seems the most sensible forward momentum action with the best results…the opposite, although we don’t usually think about it this way, is making violence. And it is so true that when we create restlessness, self-doubt, frustration…etc within ourselves, this does create a form of violence from within. If we are not happy, we begin to make others unhappy repeating cycles of unpeace, or low level violence. Peace vs Violence…let there be peace. I would just love a Make Peace button.

    1. audreyamaro says:

      That’s brilliant, I never thought about it like that!! Wow, so true.
      And a peace button, you got it. xo

  2. Siobhan Wolf says:

    What a wonderful reminder. I can relate so much to the quote about relaxing the restless mind. Today I am working to make peace with the differences between my daughter’s choices and what I would choose for her (she’s 12) and am putting myself into a mindset of allowing her choice to work out in ways I can’t imagine. Wish me luck with that! 😀

    1. audreyamaro says:

      I hope all went well with you and your daughter!! I am a momma to an almost 9 year old girl, I know so much about letting go a bit, letting her make choices. I’m sure that when she’s 12 it will be on a much bigger scale!!

      Please send me your address, I’m sending you a button!!

Leave a Reply

