The story of the optimistic pessimist ( And how she is trying to change her ways)

A pessimist sees only the dark side of the clouds and mopes; a philosopher sees both sides, and shrugs; an optimist doesn’t see the clouds at all – he’s walking on them – Leonard Louis Levinson

Is it half empty, or half full?  I would not say that I’m a pessimistic person. Not at all. I would say, and I think most of my friends would say, that I’m for the most part, light hearted, cheerful and have a positive attitude. But, alas, I have a dark pessimistic side…… Or I used to…. okay it’s safe to say I’m working on it. Do you ever feel like sometimes we’re all just waiting for the balls to drop? Something good happens, and then inevitably, oh, it must be too good to be true.  BOOOOOM.  Why on earth do we do that? Why do I let negativity live in my heart? Why can’t I enjoy the moment, live in the moment, and not let negative thoughts about the moment ending creep in?

I want to walk on the clouds, I want to walk on the clouds. I WANT TO WALK ON THE CLOUDS!!

Is it possible? I’m not trying to be unrealistic, I know there are bad things going on as we speak. There are deep dark spots in life that inevitably creep in. And sometimes the sadness needs it due attention.Sadness is a part of life, but pessimism never ever should be. Pessimism is a like a disease.   The bad things that people say, the ugliness that tries to grab hold- it is such a handicap in our lives- it cripples creativity, infects our brain, and might be the biggest roadblock in trying to love ourselves.

So this is it. I’m changing it.

I’m pushing away the negative. Pulling the positive in.

The Glass? It’s half full, baby.

And here’s my P.S.

This weekend, my husband walked in just as I was finished getting dressed, and he said  ” Hey gorgeous, you look so pretty.  ”  Usually to this, I roll my eyes and say something like ” ew, I don’t know what you’re looking at” .  Instead, I said, ” Thank you, I think so too.”

Did you love your self this weekend?

How are you banishing the pessimism in your life?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Staci says:

    Such wonderful words! I think I will join you on the clouds!

Leave a Reply

