Favorite five for August.

 

“Heaven is under our feet, as well as over our heads. ”

Henry David Thoreau

 

 

August was a big month of reflection inward for me-  Something about late summer, so gorgeous and golden by day, and it’s nights- Heavy with the deafening song of the cicadas and crickets- Oh this time of year speaks to me with a voice so loud.   And any photographic venture I took I not only saw it, but felt it too.  With my camera, I feel sometimes it’s my canvas. That might sound like the most cliche thing ever, but it’s true. What I cannot do with a brush and paper, I can see with my camera. Just achingly beautiful moments that I want to, have to, need to educe with an unwavering desire- Sometimes I just sit and cry – behind my camera, behind the computer. Again, is it cliche?  For me it’s the truth. I never want to be desensitized to the moments that pass before me. They enliven my soul- They are glimpses of the truth of life- Our proof, our essence.

 

Here were my favorites for August.

 

mamaowlphotography-0970
Her Daddy made her a crown.
She told me that I should take her picture.
How can so much joy fit inside such a small person?
She is pure joy.
mamaowlphotography-7891
Not only were they extraordinarily beautiful to photograph- but this mother son pair were so deeply in love with one another. A blind person would have been able to see their connection.
mamaowlphotography-9086
These are wonderful friends of mine. You know when you thank God for the friends in your life ?These are those friends. I am so grateful.
mamaowlphotography-9954
I could stare at this picture all day. The sheer happiness in her face, the movement in her dress. Love .
mamaowlphotography-62760024
We spent two days in DC towards the end of August- As we were leaving this sweet little French slice of life cafe, there it was- Merci- Thank you. I’ve been so extremely grateful for this summer, this month-
Merci.

Please do me a favor and visit my friend Barbara’s page, and see her faves for August. And then follow the circle.

Thank you Thank you.

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. mthoodmama says:

    Audrey- I know exactly how you feel about photography. Fabulous photos! I love them all! Thank you for a peek into your summer. xo

  2. Jill says:

    Yep, me too!

  3. Your favorites are so good and my favorites of your favorites is your little redhead full of joy and childlike wonder. I ADORE the crown her daddy made her, it’s the best. I love how this picture has so much feeling in it. Thank you for sharing your top five for August. I think I’ll visit your friend now. xo

  4. Staci Lee says:

    These are amazing! You are so gifted and such an inspiration! The little girl being lifted up is stunning!

  5. Absolutely, positively beautiful. My favorite has to be your daughter beaming with her new crown 🙂

Leave a Reply

