SHINE

January 2, 2014

 

Shine with all you have. When someone tries to blow you out, just take their oxygen and burn brighter.Katelyn S. Iron

 

For the last two weeks I’ve been trying to decide what I wanted my 2014 word to be. I had a lot of thoughts, a lot of ideas .  I had a lot of words that were flying in and out of my head. I tried to imagine how I want 2014 to go. What do I want to see happen, what do I want to accomplish? What’s my 2014 story?

In 2013 I chose the word Honor. It was perfect. And it’s funny about choosing a word- You do find that it guides you in a loving, nurturing, almost motherly kind of way. It’s like it sits there in the middle of your heart  and asks you if you’re working in harmony with your intention. I would say that most of 2013 , me and Honor got along. I listened to my body. I listened to my mind. I really said No when I needed to.   That was huge for me, especially in my personal life.  And now that 2013 is gone and 2014 is here,  I know that last year’s word will continue to work on me and my heart and mind. Just like my 2012 word, BE, has remained and stayed with me too. They live like witnesses inside your soul. It’s very, very cool.

So 2014, I’ve chosen Shine.

It came after much deliberation, but I feel like this was the word that was given to me the most.  In yoga two weeks ago, the teacher kept doing moves to help shine the heart- In looking to update my blog theme last week, I came across this one- Shine On. And the symbol to represent this sentiment? A lovely owl .  That was the deal sealer for me really.

So with this word, here’s my hope- I want to set my heart free, let it shine- Allow all the positive in me to pour out, radiate, illuminate, and be brighter than ever. I want my family, my friends, my clients,  to all feel that light- I want to direct that beacon to my work and my passions. I want to lift up others whenever possible. I want to shine.

I have not set any resolutions for 2014- I’m trying very hard, and will continue to try very hard to practice mindfulness, live in the present and not get too caught up in what’s ahead, or dwell on the past. I have this moment. And in that moment, I’m hoping to shine through it.

 

mamaowlphotography-8666

 

One of my shiny new photo projects this year is a 365 caught on film. In 2010 I did my first 365, but did it digitally. Hoping to use a wide variety of films and cameras. I’m on day two of snapping a picture, but won’t be able to share the images until I have them developed. My hope is to have something up by the 20th of the month. And if I keep to posting one day after that, I will overlap in to 2015 but that will be okay with me. But look at me getting ahead of myself. One day at a time!

I’m also excited about a project planned with a group of women photographers across the globe. More about that in another post.

Wishing you all a happy, shiny, 2014.  Have you chosen a word? If so what is it?

 

xoxo

Peace, Love, Shine.

 

And, because I can’t stop singing it the last few days since I chose I my word, I share with you John. If he was here, he’d be shining bright I know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Caroline says:

    Oh wow…what a wonderful year it will be! Shine on my friend!!! xo

  2. Hello again! You are so gorgeous friend, again shining on as you already have. Your light, it’s just so bright, I’m drawn to it. I LOVE your layout, how did you do it? You don’t technically have to tell me but I’m in love with the design. I hope to increase my blog knowledge this year and possibliy begin to pay for my own wordpress space….just maybe, we’ll see. I’m excited about the global project, I can’t wait to see what happens. xo

  3. Alex says:

    Hello! I had to say hi because Shine is my word too!
    Beautiful blog and post.
    I wish you a shine filled 2014!
    I posted about choosing my word too along with a couple of quotes and a link to my shine pinterest board, if you are interested: http://lifeonacanadianisland.blogspot.ca/2014/01/shine-my-word-for-2014.html

    1. audreyamaro says:

      Hi Alex, I am off to go check out your board!! I wish you a shiny 2014 as well!!

Leave a Reply

