Thankful, so so Thankful || Fave Five on Five November

He Said ” There are only two days a year that nothing can be done. One is called yesterday, and the other is called tomorrow, so today is the right day to love, believe, do, and mostly live”.     The Dalai Lama

I was a little sad that last month I did not participate in my daily Thankful post . It was the first time in 4 years that I did not share in a thirty day Gratitude project. I watched as others did, and thought of just jumping in. I knew though, that my gratitude need not be measured by if I shared it or not. I didn’t need to shout it out via social media to prove myself thankful. Instead I let my heart guide me on this one, and I opted for kindness- I let myself be free of the daily need to share. I knew that in my soul, deep down I was grateful .  I find myself that way often. I am grateful for it all.  For my family, for my husband and kids.  I’m thankful for their love and cuddles. I’m thankful for their words. I’m thankful for the way they all make me laugh.  I’m thankful for a strong network that involves my mom and stepdad and sister.  How blessed I feel that we all live near each other and love that we do.  I’m thankful for my friends, the ones who let me be me, and I let them be them- and we tell each other our stories and there is no judgement. We walk away from each other better people for our connection emotionally.  I”m thankful for clients who rock- they teach me so much. I’m working and doing what I love, and for that I pinch myself regularly and say ” Is this real”? Oh thank you. I’m thankful for light, both physically, and spiritually. I’m thankful for food and wine and awesomely decent people whom I share it with. I’m thankful for faith, and tears, and knowing that I’m being cared for.

I’ve had a trying year personally, dealing with big scary things. I’ve gone through the ringer on an emotional level. However, I’ve learned. These hardships while hard, have become lessons. Some of my biggest. I wish I could wave a magic wand and make the bad, scary things go away. I’ve tried, it doesn’t work. Putting band aids on problems doesn’t work either.  Problems have to be met with perseverance and fortitude, they don’t go away overnight. And so it goes. We have this moment, that’s it. And I’m thankful for each one that I have.

Let’s live in love and be grateful for it. They are the most precious gifts that we can receive.

Here are just a few pictures to go along with these words. Pictures of moments that I felt most thankful, most moved, most present.

My moth started with a trip for a few days with my husband to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We spent 4 lovely evenings away in Phoenix Az. It was so cathartic as a couple to be in a new place- exploring the space alongside each other. We held hands and kissed alot and it was so perfectly right.

5on5-8446 5on5-8447 5on5-8512

I made notice of a lot of birds during November. I kept being drawn to them as I was out on shoots, and especially while I was driving. They were there ,and if felt almost like a guide.

5on5-3376

5on5-9758

I was thankful I got to spend some time with Phoenix this month at school, they hosted a Thankgiving feast and all of the parents were invited. I love this moment when she was so happy on the playground.

5on5-3396

We usually always rake leaves as a family and I love that she loves to make a big pile to jump in. These are simple pleasures and they are so alive and awesome.

5on5-0917

I shot a Nepali wedding in November and it was just so beautiful, so moving. I just love the cultural differences around the world, how amazing.

5on5-2982

Love, sweet love.

5on5-1183

Babies, sweet babies.

5on5-0839

Cake, sweet cake.

5on5-0706

Darling daughters, sweet darling daughters.

5on5-0726

Can you please go on over to my friend Jill’s blog to see what she was up to in November?

http://www.jillmcadoo.com/blog/2014/12/fave-5-on-5-november-2014

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Alison says:

    Sweet, sweet mama. Beautiful shots, as always, and your heart is so present. Sending my love for a happy and celebratory end of the year!

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m thankful for you darling friend 🙂

  3. I always love your gratitude! always, always. And I was hoping you would talk a little about your trip to Arizona and you did! I loved being here today. Thank you.

    Love your friend
    Tracie

  4. Staci Lee says:

    Beautiful! Your words are perfect. xx

  5. sigh, love the one of you and Phil! and oh geeze, that baby and the last one of your girl! gah. So good. xo

  6. Jill says:

    I feel the emotion in each and every one of these. xoxo

Leave a Reply

