5 on 5 January

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.” – Lewis Carroll

I’ve always loved this verse above. I hate winter so much, that imagining, that the snow is just covering the pretty trees and grass and flowers with a white quilt, actually makes me feel better in some small way. It’s the cold for me. The bitter cold. And all of the gray days. I do love snow, I think it’s gorgeous, but all the muck in between to get there is just pitiful. So what to do when you feel this way about the season? I’ve been trying my hardest to keep moving. Stay with my yoga. I talk to my mom everyday. I talk to my sister. And I set up lunches and meetups for coffee with friends. I drink copious amounts of tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. I dress in lots of layers. I love scarves best. I struggle greatly with my emotions. I’m often sad. So I look for bright colors, and I buy myself flowers at Trader Joes. I also, try to find the beauty. Winter skies on sunny day turn in to the most electric pink sunsets. Puddles make for fun reflections. Cold crisp air can cure what ails ya.

My pictures this month feel cozy, warm, tactile and familiar.

5on5-92315on5-99815on5-99745on5-0549

5on5-0279

This is a circle blog, I do this every month with some truly awesome ladies!

Please go see my friend Jill at her blog and then click the link she shares to see the next and so on and so forth. Thanks for stopping by!

xo Audrey

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alison says:

    Your images are totally like a warm blanket this month. I was going to try to pick a favorite, but I can’t. They’re all so wonderful.

  2. Staci Lee says:

    There is something so warm and hopeful about the middle shot. Your baby girl is pure joy!

Leave a Reply

