A Morning with Sam

At the beginning of the year,  way back in January, I wrote a blog post about Worthiness.

In that post, I very nervously shared a part of me. I shared a bit of my story, and how I wanted to, starting in 2015 start loving myself for who I am- I was tired of waiting to begin this process after I checked off a mile long list of things that I believed made me better. This morning I woke up to this quote :

 “Drop the idea of becoming someone, because you are already a masterpiece. You cannot be improved. You have only to come to it, to know it, to realize it.”
~ Osho

And here’s one more gem :

“You can search throughout the entire universe for someone who is more deserving of your love and affection than you are yourself, and that person is not to be found anywhere. You, yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”  

~ Gautama Buddha

 In harmony with those thoughts, with this process, I decided to incorporate my photography work . After the blog, I received some kind messages from friends and clients who understood the words I wrote- They understood because they felt the same way! Some folks came so far as to ask to be photographed- I do hope that I get clients with a new found love of themselves to step in front of my camera.

I also have approached a few that I want to photograph- Asking anyone anything makes me feel soooo incredibly vulnerable, so this has been a huge step for me. So far, everyone that I’ve asked, has said yes.

One of those people is my friend Sam.

I first met Sam three summers ago. She was a regular patron of my family’s coffee shop in Media. I used to see her and her sweet little dog Bella in the courtyard. My mom knew Sam and introduced us. When I first met  Sam, the first thing I noticed about her was her smile. and her big confident voice. She has such a friendly personality. She told me that she loves talking with everyone.

 I sat with Sam for a bit at the beginning of the summer. We talked about, life, goals, and the subject of Worthiness and why it’s so important to her. Sam was in a horrible car accident in 2008, an accident which left her paralyzed from the waist down. She’s been in a wheelchair for a little over 7 years now.   When I asked her about her life before and after the accident, she said  that she likes the  person that she is now so much more than the person she was prior to the accident. She also shared that she wouldn’t change her circumstances. She has grown and learned from her experiences. Despite living with a host of medical issues and chronic pain, she wears a big smile, and rock star attitude towards life. She contributes that good attitude partly toward taking good care of herself and training at a local gym doing boxing and weights. Her big goal is to get strong enough to head West to California to a Physical Therapy Center called Project Walk where she hopes to learn to walk once more. I told you, she’s a rock star!  As Confident as Sam is however, she told me that she struggles with feelings of self worth.  She has recently along with the local police, talked to young kids on the subject of worthiness. Feeling unworthy is an epidemic of mass proportions. When you’re really young, and you don’t feel worthy of love and belonging, it’s easy to hurt yourself both intentionally and unintentionally. You end up seeking false love any way you can .  Sam’s hope is that by sharing her story with young people, it will help encourage them. Encourage them to make wiser, kinder, decisions with themselves.

SamanthaTwining-5 SamanthaTwining-2 SamanthaTwining-1 SamanthaTwining-4

She is currently doing a  Go Fund me campaign to raise money to get to California. She told me that she feels uncomfortable asking for help. So I thought I might ask for her. And ask you to ask for her. Let’s help this beautiful woman follow her dream to one day walk again .

02268784ec03219bb7e75482a3e6707b

To Sam: Thank you for meeting up with me that early summer day in late May. You are so inspiring! xoxo

Audrey

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Audrey, Such beautiful words & images for my Daughter, Samantha. Thank You for doing this! Samantha inspires many people each day with her positive attitude and kind heart. You brought tears to my eyes…..But they are happy tears!!! Have a Beautiful Day and keep on inspiring others with your work. Maria Johnston-Twining

  2. Tara says:

    Great article for an such an inspiring woman! Love you Sam! Keep up the hard work! 💗 Xoxo

Leave a Reply

